Impacting the Community

<< Return

Drs. Christian and Hoberman to receive philanthropy award - 10/12/2016 -

For Immediate Release: October 12, 2016
Contact: Erin Winder

Drs. Christian and Hoberman to receive philanthropy award

 (Lafayette, La.) Community Foundation of Acadiana (CFA) will honor Dr. Alan M. Hoberman and the late Dr. Mildred S. Christian at its sixth annual Leaders in Philanthropy Awards Luncheon on Nov. 11 at the Cajundome Convention Center. Doors open at 11 a.m., and the program is from 11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Alan and Mildred have been selected to receive the 2016 Leaders in Philanthropy Award for their generous and perpetual contributions to St. Mary Parish. 

Natives of Pennsylvania, the couple owned the antebellum mansion, Shadowlawn, in Franklin. Mildred donated Shadowlawn to the St. Mary Parish Chapter of the Louisiana Landmarks Society (SMCLLS) upon her death from breast cancer in 2009. In 2011, Alan donated $500,000 to the SMCLLS Trust for an endowment for the property and pledged to pay all expenses for maintenance and restoration. To date, he has donated over $175,000 towards this pledge.

Prior to her death, Mildred founded a Patriotic Sons of America chapter in Franklin with her father and replaced the historic lamp posts on Main Street.  She and her father also endowed the children’s library at the Girard College for orphan boys.

Alan continues to honor Mildred’s legacy. He established a chair in the College of Science at the Mount Nittany Society at Penn State University in her name.  Alan also contributes to the Endowment Fund for Education of Toxicologists of the American College of Toxicology in her honor as well as offering scholarships to biology students at Drexel University.

Alan and Mildred are among 13 individuals who will be recognized for making a positive impact in their communities through philanthropy:

  •         St. Mary Parish – Dr. Alan M. Hoberman &           
  •     Dr. Mildred S. Christian (1942-2009)
  •         Acadia Parish – Peggy & John Daniel Gielen, III
  •         Evangeline Parish – Anita M. Fontenot
  •          Iberia Parish – Phil & Reneé Haney
  •          Lafayette Parish – James Devin & Ruth Moncus
  •          St. Landry Parish – Sue Soileau Brignac
  •          St. Martin Parish – Roy & Catherine Poché
  •          Vermilion Parish – N. R. Broussard

In addition to the above award recipients, CFA will present corporate awards to Acadian Companies and Chevron – Gulf of Mexico Business Unit for their outstanding philanthropy in Acadiana. Nominations for all awards were submitted by the community and CFA's past board of directors made final selections.

Luncheon seats and tables are open to the public and are now on sale. Seats are $75 each, and tables of eight are $500 each. To register to attend, or for more information on the award recipients, please visit The deadline to purchase seats and tables is Nov. 2. For registration questions, please call 337-769-4849.

Community Foundation of Acadiana’s (CFA) core purpose is to connect all generous people to the causes they care about. CFA is south Louisiana’s premier philanthropic organization benefiting our region, with a particular focus on the parishes of Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Mary, St. Martin and Vermilion. CFA has realized cumulative gifts of $175 million and has made cumulative grants of over $87 million. Learn more at



© Copyright 2018, Community Foundation of Acadiana. All rights reserved.